Welcome to NYCERS
Mission Statement
Board of Trustees
Board Meeting Calendar
Meeting Webcasts
Benefits of Membership

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of NYCERS. Its responsibilities include investing the assets of the retirement system, establishing the administrative budget of the system and promulgating rules and regulations necessary to carry out provisions of law.

The NYCERS Board of Trustees, as prescribed by the law, consists of eleven members: the Mayor's Representative, the City Comptroller, the Public Advocate, the heads of the three unions with the largest number of participating employees, and the five Borough Presidents.

The Board of Trustees is also responsible for appointing the Executive Director, who oversees the day-to-day operations of the system. Karen Mazza was named Interim Executive Director on January 1, 2017.

  • Mayor's Representative
  • Honorable Scott Stringer
    Comptroller of the City of New York
  • Honorable Letitia James
    Public Advocate
  • Honorable Gale Brewer
    Manhattan Borough President
  • Honorable Eric Adams
    Brooklyn Borough President
  • Honorable Ruben Diaz, Jr.
    Bronx Borough President
  • Honorable Melinda Katz
    Queens Borough President
  • Honorable James Oddo
    Staten Island Borough President
  • Mr. Henry Garrido
    Executive Director, District Council 37, AFSCME
  • Mr. John Samuelsen
    President, Transport Workers Union, Local 100
  • Mr. Gregory Floyd
    President, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 237